Greenmount Historic Homestead is located just of the Peak Downs highway, 3km past Walkerston, via Mackay, Queensland, Australia.
The property was named "Greenmount" by Captain John Mackay when he settled here in 1862,the first European to do so.
The house was built in 1915 by Albert Cook whose family arrived in the district soon after John Mackay.
Albert Cook established the first Aberdeen Angus Cattle Stud in Queensland and the grazing business was carried on by his son, Thomas Albert Cook.
Mr Tom Cook passed away in 1981 and leaving no heir, Mrs Dorothy Cook, gifted the house and its original contents, together with 11 hectares of land as a unique museum.
The Tom and Dorothy Cook Memorial Park and the Homestead is owned and administered by the Mackay City Council.