256 Queen Street
Phone: 074123 5497
In a Colonial setting among magnificent gardens is Mavis Bank, originally called Ormond and built between 1862 and 1874.
The land was bought in 1849 by James Cleary, who was a friend and protector of the aboriginals and the first vegetable and dairy farmer in the Maryborough area. Mavis Bank still retains the colonial feel. It is furnished as a comfortable family home with antiques and collectables from 1720 to 1920 and is truly a step back in time. Mavis Bank was one of five houses to receive a heritage tourism award for the Centenary of federation.