413 Hobart Road
Phone: (03) 6344 7824
Phone: (03) 6344 4033
Accessible by the old highway between Breadalbane roundabout and Launceston via Kings Meadows. This charming gentlemen's residence, a typical example of the Georgian period, has been beautifully restored and furnished by the National Trust.
History: Franklin House was built in 1838 for Mr Britton Jones, an early Launceston brewer and inkeeper. In 1842 it became the Classical and Commercial school, a private boarding school for boys conducted by William Keeler Hawkes. The school enjoyed an enviable reputation in the north of the colony for over 20 years, educating the sons of many prominent citizens. From 1888 until 1960 the house was used as a private residence.
In 1960 a group, later to become the National Trust of Australia (Tasmania) raised the funds to purchase, restore and furnish the house. It was opened to the public on the 28th of October, 1961. Outstanding features include the joinery of N.S.W cedar, original kitchen, collection of fine English furniture with a number of colonial pieces, clocks and fine china. The school room is a special feature of the house.